ANNOUNCEMENT

THE CENTRAL BANK OF CHINA

(90) Tai Yang Fa No.030059988

Date: 12th December 2001

Subject:

The Central Bank of China will issue the 4th Coin Set of The Taiwan Indigenous Peoples Cultural Series-RUKAI on December 14, 2001. Each set consists of six coins in circulation (NT\$ 1/2, NT\$1, NT\$5, NT\$10, NT\$20, NT\$50) as well as a commemorative medal bearing traditional Rukai motifs.

Authority:

The authority is based on the Regulations Governing the Issue of New Taiwan Currency by the Central Bank of China.

Description

The Rukai is a hierarchical society based on the inheritance of the elder son. It is said their ancestors landed on the Taitung coast. Its population is around 12,304 (at the end of 1997). The Rukain population centers in three areas: The Ta-nan group, also called East Rukai group, with Ta-nan village in Taitung as their center; the Ai-liao group, also called West Rukai group, with Wu-tai village in Pingtung as their center; the Hsia-san-she group, also called Chuo-kou group, residing along the shores of the Chuo-kou River of Kaohsiung. Lily is the flower of Rukai, representing social order and ethics. The main ceremonial activities are the August Harvest Festival, Plentiful Year Festival, and the Rite of Passage to Adulthood.